School me

Jellyrolls

bomb diggity
Jan 21, 2011
I'm new to the whole upkeep of a vehicle thing. It's brand new so there really isn't anything needed yet but need some pointers. What should I do every week, every month, every year to keep it conditioned? For example, I have leather. How often does it need to be cleaned and/or conditioned. How often should I wax or clay? Shit like that. I've ordered a starter kit from Adams, but what else do I need.

It all goes by a judgement and by what color you have, black normally looks dirty way before say silver.

I normally wash mine once every other week. but if we get a shitty rainy day i may wash it once a week, if we get a good long dry spell i may only wipe it down with some detail spray once a week.

Do yourself a favor. have the paint 100% corrected while its still new. its much easier to maintaine perfect paint then it is to bring fucked up paint back to perfect.

Then use a sealant. I use adams quick sealant. it is a extra hard layer of protection to help keep minor swirls and shit away. i alway layer it with wax.

wax generally lasts a month-2 months, sealant lasts around 6 months. depending on weather and driving conditions.

X2 on ginger. Then once you have it perfected.. Invest in some maintenance supplies like 2 wash buckets, 2 wash pads, 2 grit guards, car shampoo, great white drying towel, and detail spray. Those are all Adam's of course

If you ask why two of all that...go to Adamspolishes.com, click the videos tab on the top, and watch the car wash video. That'll give the basic understanding of a safe wash. If you want to add a little more insurance of a safe wash, buy a foam gun and use the 2 buckets both as rinse buckets. You can get the Gilmour Foammaster II off amazon for around $35 and they work awesome for loosening up dirt and creating more lubricity. Which equals less chance or grinding contaminates into the finish