Truck died, no spark... help!

07sierraclassic

Mar 11, 2012
Buckley, WA
So I was on my way into work Monday my truck flat-out died before I made it a mile from my house. It was the first 70*+ day we have had here, and had the sun roof open and Van Halen rockin so I didn't hear anything. I rolled into the throttle and was floored, doing about 70-75 and then felt a slight vibration and lost engine power. No loud bang, no obscene amounts of smoke of any kind. All my electronics are still working but engine won't fire. It was at operating temp and had plenty of oil pressure when it happened. Has approx. 50lbs of fuel pressure at the rail, but isn't getting spark. Valves move when engine is cranked over so im a little stumped at this point. A lot of what I've found points to either the crank sensor or the cam sensor, but I am not very good with electronics and don't know how to troubleshoot sensors.

Truck had no previous symptoms, as in it didn't feel sluggish and started just fine. It has an LQ4 with roughly 80,000 miles, so, WTF?!?!

Check all of your underhood fuses first as they're the easiest. I had a no-start problem with my 04 and it turned out the 40A ignition fuse was blown. It would still crank like it wanted to start, but never did.

All the fuses I have checked are good still. Would a sensor just flat-out fail like that tho? It died under WOT and wont start at all, wont even try! I have a hard time believing it just "blew up"... cause my old 5.3 still ran even with low compression...

Gonna grab a scan tool and see if I can find any codes. What reluctor wheel is in this engine? It's a 6.0 out of an 05 Denali

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

could also be a ground. If your motor swapped... check all grounds find a guide explaining where each is located. If one is missing/loose/corroded it would cause odd problems like this.

Also what bryan said, could be a pinched wire.
Could also be the PCM.